Cabinet set to deliberate on EEC land-use, development plans

The Eastern Economic Corridor (EEC) Policy Committee will soon submit plans to the Cabinet for the use of land and the development of utilities infrastructure in the EEC.

Kanit Sangsubhan, secretary-general of the EEC Office, said the plans will cover the development of the EEC zone for 20 years.

The EEC zone covers Chachoengsao, Chon Buri and Rayong provinces, and once the plans are approved by the Cabinet, the Department of Public Works and Town and Country Planning will draw up new plans for the three provinces. 

He added that the latest plan only changed the land-use specifications by 8 per cent, so forest areas and good agricultural land can be maintained, and only 3 per cent of rural zones will be developed. 

Keep reading