Non-ASEAN investors now qualify for local privileges

Non-ASEAN-based investors who have already invested in ASEAN will now be eligible for privileges enjoyed by their ASEAN counterparts in five sectors: agriculture, fisheries, forestry, mining and industrial. The International Economic Policy Committee chaired by Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha on August 22 approved a proposal by the Board of Investment to lift the restrictions on non-ASEAN investors. The change does not apply to other sectors still governed by existing laws such as the Foreign Business Act. Other issues to be raised include intellectual property, labour, human rights, good governance and the environment. 

Keep reading